Friday, 24 June 2011

WCF Features

1.      Endpoints: Endpoints provide clients access to the functionality offered by a WCF service.
Each endpoint consists of four properties:
  • An address that indicates where the endpoint can be found. 
  • A binding that specifies how a client can communicate with the endpoint. 
  • A contract that identifies the operations available. 
  • A set of behaviors that specify local implementation details of the endpoint. 
2.      Data Transfer and Serialization: Describes how serialization of data can be tailored for interoperation or future compatibility.
3.      Sessions, Instancing, and Concurrency: Describes the instancing and session modes of WCF and how to select the right mode for your application.
4.      Transports in Windows Communication Foundation: Describes how to configure the transport layer, the lowest level of the channel stack.
5.      Queues and Reliable Sessions: Describes queues, which store messages from a sending application on behalf of a receiving application and later forward these messages to the receiving application.
6.      Transactions: Explains how to created transacted operations that can be rolled back if needed.
7.      Windows Communication Foundation Security: Describes how WCF security helps you to create applications that have confidentiality and integrity. Authentication and authorization are also available, as are auditing features.
8.      Peer-to-Peer Networking: Peer Channel enables P2P collaboration, content distribution, load balancing, and distributed processing for both consumer and enterprise scenarios.
9.      Metadata: WCF provides an infrastructure for exporting, publishing, retrieving, and importing service metadata. WCF services use metadata to describe how to interact with the service's endpoints so that tools, such as Svcutil.exe, can automatically generate client code for accessing the service.
10.   Clients: Client applications must create, configure, and use WCF client or channel objects to communicate with services.
11.   Hosting: A service can be hosted by:
  • IIS
  • Windows Process Activation Service (WAS, manages application pool configuration and the creation and lifetime of worker processes for HTTP and other protocols)
  • Windows Server AppFabric (a set of integrated technologies that make it easier to build, scale and manage Web and composite applications that run on IIS)
  • A Windows service
  • A managed application—this option is often referred to as self hosting.
12.   Interoperability and Integration: Describes how to use WCF to extend your existing logic rather than having to rewrite it if you have a substantial investment in component-based application logic hosted in COM+.
13.   WCF Web HTTP Programming Model: Describes the WCF Web Programming Model that allows developers to expose WCF service operations to non-SOAP endpoints. The WCF Web HTTP programming model has new features to work with many different data formats. At the binding layer, the WebHttpBinding can read and write the following different kinds of data:
  • XML
  • JSON
14.   WCF Syndication: WCF provides support to easily work with syndication feeds in Atom, RSS or other custom formats, which allows you to read and create them as well as expose them on a service endpoint.
15.   AJAX Integration and JSON Support: Describes support for ASP.NET Asynchronous JavaScript and XML (AJAX) and the Javascript Object Notation (JSON) data format to allow WCF services to expose operations to AJAX clients.
16.   WCF Discovery: Describes support to enable services to be discoverable at runtime in an interoperable way using the WS-Discovery protocol.
17.   Routing: Describes the routing service.
18.   Workflow Services: You can define a workflow that implements your service and describe endpoints the service exposes, all entirely in XAML (Extensible Application Markup Language).

No comments:

Post a Comment